Share the conversation

A Man called Ove – Ballymena book club

The latest book being read by the Ballymena book club, in Waterstones Ballymena is A Man called Ove by Fredrik Backman. This Swedish novel is the latest to be picked by the group and it has been a word of mouth recommendation – which normally means that it is good!

A Man called Ove - Ballymena book club

A Man called Ove – Ballymena book club

This book was written and passed over by many publishers – in fact the story almost never made it to our shelves. However Backman persisted and his tale of a suicidal widower has now become a firm favourite and it keep appearing on the bestseller lists. It has now been made into a stage version, a film and it has been translated into 38 different languages.

The book is blackly funny, with the oddball protagonist who strikes us a friendship with some unlikely people. But is it enough to make him abandon his perfectly made sucide plans?

Waterstones say:

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman’s heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and David Nicholl’s US.New York Times bestseller’

Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving’ Daily Mail’Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it’ Spectator Books of the Year. At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…

Get the book to find out more. Below is a video to clear up a very important question about the book – how do you say Ove?

Book club meets on the first Wednesday of every month in Waterstones in Ballymena. All are made very welcome – all you have to do it pick up the book in store now. A Man called Ove is the Ballymena book club title for the month of Septmeber – meeting on Wednesday 4th October at 7pm.