The Sports Awards have just announced their Ballymena Nominees. The Awards night will be on the 4 March and you can keep up with who has won what on the MEA borough Council Facebook Page.

Sports Awards

Lets take a look at the categories:

Team of the Year

  • Brídíní Óga Camogie Club
  • Ballymena 2nd XI
  • Cricket Club Ballymena
  • Athletics U13 Boys 4x100m Relay Antrim

Sportsperson of the year

  • Erin Smith (Indoor bowls)
  • Eileen Burns (Cycling)
  • Steven Donnelly (Boxing)

Sportsperson / Team with a Disability

  • Katie Morrow (Wheelchair Basketball)
  • Drew Cochrane (Golf)
  • Conor O’Kane
  • Darrell Erwin (Hand cycling)

Coach / Manager of the Year

  • Seamus McAleenan (Brídíní Óga Camogie Club)
  • Gary Marshall (Showjumping)
  • Tony McAvoy (Boxing)

Congratulations to everyone who has been nominated for the awards. The teams and individuals represented show off just how talented our Ballymena folks are. With everything from Camogie to boxing, cricket to showjumping, handcycling to athletics being represented we don’t know how the judges are going to make their decision. If you ask us they are all winners – well done to all the teams and people who have worked so hard to become top in their sport. We look forward to seeing who wins the Sports Awards after finding out about the Ballymena Nominees.